BJP wins Thongju and Thangmeiband seats handing Congress a resounding defeat

Manipur bypoll 2015
Successful candidates of the BJP Thongam Bishwajit (left) and Kh Joykishan recieving the election winning certificates from their respective EROs after the bye-election results were declared. IFP Photo

IMPHAL, November 24: In an impressive feat, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Manipur today won the bye-poll in the two constituencies of Thangmeiband and Thongju, handing over a resounding defeat for the ruling party in both Assembly constituencies.

In Thangmeiband Constituency, BJP’s Khumukcham Joykishan emerged the winner with a total vote count of 12,104 while his nearest rival Jyotin Waikhom of the Congress secured 10,197. The only other candidate Dr G Tonsana of the Manipur Democratic People’s Front received only 55 votes, while 72 persons pressed the None of the Above (NOTA) button.

In Thongju Constituency, BJP’s Thongam Bishwajit defeated his nearest rival by a margin of nearly 3000 votes which is far worse than the last election when Bishwajit had contested on a Manipur Pradesh Trinamool Congress ticket in 2012.

According to the election results, Bishwajit secured 14605 votes while his rival candidate Bijoy Koijam of the Congress secured 11393.

Dr Tonsana of the MDPF secured only 54 votes, while, 78 voters opted for NOTA.

There were no reject votes in both the assembly constituencies.

Many perceive the development to be a game changer to the almost 15 years of Congress rule in the State.

It may be mentioned that the Thongju and Thangmeiband Assembly seats were left vacant after the State Assembly Speaker disqualified the MLAs Th Bishwajit Singh and Kh Joykishan on May 27 under the anti-defection law following a petition moved by Andro MLA Thounaojam Shyamkumar.

Along with the two MLAs, Wangoi MLA O Lukhoi was also disqualified however, following an appeal before the High Court, the court had ruled in favour of the Wangoi MLA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here