Th Bishwajit, Kh Joykishan sworn in as MLA


IMPHAL, November 27: Thongam Bishwajit and Khumukcham Joykishan who won in the recently concluded bye-election in Thongju and Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency respectively from the BJP ticket have been sworn in as MLA during an oath taking ceremony held at the Court Room of Speaker Th Lokeshwar Singh of Manipur Legislative Assembly today.

The oath taking ceremony was administered by Speaker Th Lokeshwar as per the Constitution of India.

Thongam Bishwajit had contested from 5-Thongju Assembly Constituency while Khumukcham Joykishan fought from 9-Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency in the bye-election both from the BJP ticket beating their arch rivals by huge margin.

The results of the bye-election, was declared on November 24.

Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam who is also the president of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC); Deputy Speaker MK Preshow Shimray; Chairman of Hill Areas Committe Dr Chaltolien Amo and MLAs from the ruling and opposition parties were present at the swearing-in-ceremony.

It may be mentioned that Thongam Bishwajit and Khumukcham Joykishan had won in the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election in 2012 contesting from their respective constituencies from All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)’s ticket.

Later, they were disqualified by the Speaker Tribunal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here