Assam election result will have bearing in 2017 Manipur election: Chaoba


IMPHAL, March 28: The Assam State general election results will have bearing on the 2017 Manipur general election, said BJP Manipur Pradesh president Th Chaoba today soon after returning from his four day election campaign in Silchar, Assam to help the BJP Assam Pradesh candidates in the area.

He said a Meitei, L Thoiba is contesting the election on BJP ticket in the Lakhipur Assembly Constituency and is quite hopeful of emerging victorious as the entire Meitei and Meitei Pangal population of the area have assured solid support for the candidate.

He said on March 25, a team of the BJP Manipur Pradesh led by him reached Silchar and helped in the BJP campaign there.

The team took part in a public meeting in the evening which was attended by thousands of people for BJP candidate Dilip Kukar Paul, he said.

The next day, the team addressed a public meeting at Lakhipur Tolen Khul where Meitei and Meitei Pangal gathered, he said. There were around 2000 people in attendance, he added.

He said he had urged the people to vote for Thoiba, the lone candidate from the Meitei community in Assam.

BJP Manipur executive member AR Khan also urged the Meitei Pangal in the area to support Thoiba, he added.

During the trip, the State leaders campaigned for Thoiba at four places of Lakhipur Constituency including Tolen Tolen Khul, Singirbond part-I and part –II and Baskandi Bazar, he said.

Chaoba said the team also attended a rally at Panchgram which was participated by more than three to four lakhs of people of Hailakandi and Cachar districts.

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi and the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate for Assam Sarbananda Sonowal also attended the rally.

He said Modi also spoke at the rally.

He said people of Assam might have appreciated Tarun Gogoi earlier, but now they have realised his hidden agenda and will teach him and his party a lesson on April 4 and 11 when the people will exercise their franchise.

The State BJP team consists of senior BJP leaders like N.Mangi, AR Khan, MLA Bishwajit, RK Shivachandra, M Ranjit, Anwar Hussain, Kh Romeo, K Sharatchandra and Y Gopi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here