Cabinet ministers skip handing over of charge to TN Haokip

CM Ibobi posing with newly appointed MPCC president TN Haokip and outgoing president Gaikhangam.
CM Ibobi posing with newly appointed MPCC president TN Haokip and outgoing president Gaikhangam.

IMPHAL, April 2: Former IPR minister, TN Haokip, today officially took charge as the MPCC president from outgoing president, Gaikhangam during a simple ceremony held at the Congress Bhavan.

The ceremony was attended by Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, congress legislators and party members.

However, none of the cabinet ministers turned up for the ceremony except Health Minister Phungzathang Tonsing, but only after the ceremony was over.

After assuming office, the new MPCC president interacted with media persons wherein he spelled out a lists of activities he would undertake in the years to come.

Further during the interaction, TN Haokip told media persons that he would be leaving for Delhi along with the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister on Monday to meet the AICC chief and other party leaders to resolve the pending reshuffle issue.

On their return a reception ceremony would be held at congress Bhavan as per tradition to felicitate the new president, he said.

Party organisation including enrolment, strengthening the party at DCC, BCC level would be the top priority agendas to be taken up in the wake of the ensuing Manipur Municapl election, he said.

Although the election is just round the corner, time is not in favour of the party, he observed and added he is hopeful that the love of the people and their confidence in the party will take the party further.

He appealed to the public to give another chance to the party by forgiving any ‘human failure or error’ committed by the party before exclaiming, “To err is human and to forgive is divine”.

Claiming that the Congress will never abandon the people of Manipur, he branded the public as the master and the representatives are servants.

Further observing the need for more little change, he said that the party will always welcome any positive criticism.

He divulged that there are many agendas of the party in stores to be implemented for the welfare of the people and requested the people to judge by the labour of fruit.

When questioned of the number of Minister to be reshuffle, he maintained that the decision is the prerogative of the Chief Minister and wisdom of AICC chief Sonia Gandhi.

Nevertheless, he informed that the pressure group (dissident) had demanded for replacing atleast 10 Ministers base on the principle of upholding the party’s interest.

The legislators who present today were senior Legislator, Y Irabot, Lamlai MLA N Biren, RK Anand, Ng Bijoy, K Ranjit, DK Korungthang, Kh Devendro, Manga Vaiphei, Lok Sabha MP Thangso Baite, P Brojen, W Brajabidhu, Prithiviraj, Y Surchandra, Nemcha Kipgen, Yamthong Haokip, S Bira, Janghemlung Pamei, Amin Shah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here