BJP basks under ‘good show’ in IMC polls


IMPHAL, Jun 19: Former Opposition leader and veteran politician Okram Joy has categorically stated that BJP’s victory in all the three wards of Singjamei Assembly segment was a precursor to the State Assembly election which is due next year.
Elected BJP Corporators Th Bankimchandra (Ward No 15), Th Eliza (Ward No 16) and L Lokeshore (Ward No 17) were felicitated by BJP Singjamei Mandal at Singjamei Yumnam Leikai residence of Y Khemchand today.
With Congress party securing two more seats than BJP in the just concluded IMC election, the election results were not a matter of jubilation for BJP Manipur Pradesh if one takes into account the fact that a strong BJP wave is sweeping across the country, Joy remarked while speaking at the felicitation function.
Congress party, after ‘buying’ some independent Corporators, has assumed power in IMC quite hastily. Yet, the unfolding political scenario indicates that the corporation formed by Congress party would end prematurely.
People of Singjamei AC rang out a very clear message about their common desire to bring about a BJP Government in the State and BJP will work in line with the desire and aspirations of the people, Joy said.
Y Khemchand who is preparing to fight the next State Assembly election on BJP ticket in Singjamei AC lost the last Assembly election to his Congress rival by just 157 votes. Although Khemchand fought the last Assembly election on a Trinamool Congress ticket, he has already joined at the suggestion of a large number of his supporters, Joy added.
Former MLA M Bhorot asserted that the political changes seen in Singjamei would soon turn out to be a precursor for the whole State of Manipur.
BJP Manipur Pradesh former vice-president Prof S Tiken too claimed that BJP would score a resounding victory in Singjamei in the next Assembly election as indicated by the results of the IMC election. BJP Manipur Pradesh former president Sh Shantikumar said that BJP could have secured more than 10 seats if not for certain lapses on the part of the party. Former Minister T Hangkhanpao, former MLA Haokholet Kipgen and former DGP Y Joykumar were also present at the gathering.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here