Newly elected IMC Corporators take oath



Imphal, Jun 14: Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West Ningthoujam Geoffrey admi-nistered oath to the newly elected Corporators from 27 Wards of Imphal East and Imphal West today at the meeting hall of Imphal Municipal Corporation (IMC).
Earlier, IMC Ward Development Committee Members tried to prevent the oath taking ceremony demanding that they too should be sworn in properly like the Corporators.
Nonetheless, the oath taking ceremony went off smoothly after the IMC Executive Officer talked with the protesting Ward Development Committee Members.
The 27 Councillors (20 from Imphal West and 7 from Imphal East) including 11 women who were elected in the recently concluded IMC polls took the oath of office. Some of them took oath in Manipuri and others in English.
Executive Officer of IMC, Ng Uttam Singh, former Chairperson of IMC A Nimai Sharma and Returning Officer, Imphal West Bantee Singh Konthoujam attended the oath taking ceremony.
The newly elected Councillors are – Gaidon (W/No 1), Thokchom Purnachandra (W/No 2), Hijam Nutan-chandra (W/ No 3), Laishram Arenkumar (W/No 4), Hajarimayum Bobby Sharma ( W/No 5), Tourangbam Indrajit Meitei (W/No 6), RK Jiten (W/No 7), P Debala (W/ No 8), Soram Sunil (W/ No 9), Salam Tiken (W/No 10) , Maisnam Joychandra Singh (W/ No 11), Potsangbam Premila Devi (W/No 12), Oinam Romio Singh (W/ No. 13), Samom Rita (W/ No 14), Thokchom Bankimchandra Singh ( W/ No 15), Thokchom Eliza (W/ No 16), Laishangbam Lokeshwar Singh (W/ No 17), Laimayum Inungnganbi (W/No 18), Yumlembam Lukamani Devi (W/No 19), Loukrakpam Tombi Devi (W/ No 20), Joy Kabui (W/ No 21), Nongmaithem Kumudini (W/ No 22), Loushambam Romola (W/No 23), G Bino ( W/ No 24), Sujata Phaomei (W/ No 25), Meibon Phaomei (W/ No 26) and Herojit Ngangomba (W/No 27).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here