Dr Najma Heptulla sworn in as 18th Governor


e-Front-__-Swearing-in-Ceremony-of-Dr.Najma-A-HeptullaImphal, Aug 2: Dr Najma A Heptulla was today sworn in as the Governor of Manipur . Acting Chief Justice of the High Court of Manipur Justice Rakesh Ranjan Prasad administered the oath of office and secrecy to Dr Najma A Heptulla at a ceremony held at the Darbar hall of Raj Bhavan. She is the 18th Governor of Manipur.
The ceremony was attended by Chief Minister Okram Ibobi, Speaker Th Lokeshwar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam, Ministers, Lok Sabha MPs Dr Th Meinya and Thangso Baite, Rajya Sabha MP MC Mary Kom, MLAs, Chief Secretary, Director General of Police, and other senior officials of the State Government, police officers, Army officers and senior citizens.
Soon after the swearing-in-ceremony, the Governor also inspected a guard of honour, conveyed a press release issued by DIPR.
In an interaction with media persons, the Governor said “My first priority even before taking the oath as Governor of Manipur is to work for the people. Manipur is many many miles away from Delhi, but they are not far away from our hearts. I will be working for the development of Manipur State. I would like to know first what are the priorities for the people of Manipur. Manipur is so rich in culture. People should know about Manipur”.
Dr Najma Heptulla, who resigned as a Union Minister last month, was appointed as the Governor of Manipur on Wednesday. She received her Doctorate in Zoology (Avian Hearts) at the young age of 22. She also worked in the scientists’ pool of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), Government of India.
Dr Heptulla was elected to the Rajya Sabha in July 1980. She has the unique distinction of being elected as Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha four times, first in January 1985, the post she held till January 1986, and later in the years 1988, 1992 and 1998 until April 2004.
As the longest serving Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha (for about 17 years), Najma Heptulla became the Union Minister of Minority Affairs from May 26, 2014 to July 12, 2016, it conveyed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here