On the first day of BJP-led Govt in Manipur


By: Wahengbam Rorrkychand

Chief Minister of Manipur, N Biren Singh, who was sworn-in yesterday along with eight (8) cabinet ministers has convened a meeting with all  his Cabinet Ministers and MLAs to discuss about the ongoing economic blockade of United Naga Council (UNC) in the state.

UNC has imposed economic blockade along the national highways 2 and 37 since November one (1) last year.

The meeting unanimously decided to request/appeal to lift the economic blockade immediately and to make all effort by the state government, said a release.


President of Manipur Unit, BJP, Ksh Bhabananda Singh informed today that the allocation of portfolios to newly sworn in cabinet Ministers of BJP-led coalition might be done after the completion of floor test, most likely around 25th March, 2017.


The Chief Secretary of Manipur, O Nabakishore Singh on Thursday convened a joint meeting of the Additional Chief Secretaries, Commissioner, Secretaries and Head of Departments at Old Secretariat Conference Hall.

During the meeting, the Chief Secretary said that the new government was committee to the good governance and free from corruption.

“Good governance is to make efficiency, effectiveness and transparency in the administration,” Chief Secretary elaborated, while appealing the administrative heads to maintain punctuality of the attendance of the employees and to make efficiency delivery of the services to the people, so as to bring a clean and corruption free government in Manipur.

The development of hill areas in Manipur is the priority of the government and instructed to prepare a detail project report within a week to seek the special fund package from the Center, instructed the Chief Secretary.

He also asked all the head of departments to prepare power point presentation on the performance of the department concerned for placing it before the new Ministry.


After the BJP-led coalition Government has been formed on Wednesday, four ADC (Autonomous District Council) members of Chandel District belonging to Indian National Congress namely Ngamkholal Baite, Member of 22 Sugnu Hills ADCC; T Seithang Haokip, Member of 18 Songjang ADC; Ch Ngamthang Mate, Member of 14 Sibong ADCC and Limkhojam Haokip, Member of Tolbung ADCC have joined Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday afternoon. Their application to join the BJP has been accepted by President of BJP and a formal reception function was held today afternoon at the state party head office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here