Ujjwala LPG connections to BPL beneficiaries begin


IMPHAL, Jun 7 :Installation work of Ujjwala domestic LPG connection to BPL beneficiaries has begun in many areas of Thoubal and Imphal East districts. The Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana (PMUY) was launched in the State on June 5 by Chief Minister N Biren Singh and Union Minister of State (DoNER) Dr Jitendra Singh.

Today, house to house LPG connections under PMUY were given to beneficiaries by M/s Athokpam Indane Service in Thoubal district. Subscription vouchers/customer’s document was also handed to the beneficiaries.

On Tuesday (June 6), M/s RBD Indane Service, Lamlai completed 18 installations to 18 BPL beneficiaries. RBD Indane and Sawombung Indane in Imphal East and M/s Lambodara Indane, Mantripukhri at Heingang also began immediate LPG installations providing LPG connections to BPL families. RBD Indane also provided fresh LPG connections to beneficiaries in Lamlai Sekta under the scheme.

The BPL beneficiaries were provided affordable stoves/burners and given demonstrations on how to use the stove and the regulator. Safety tips were also explained to the consumers and ‘emergency number 1906’ was written on the walls of the kitchen so that the consumers can easily dial in case of leakage or any other emergency services.

Under the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana, the Central Government is allocating financial assistance of Rs 1,600, which includes security deposit fee of a 14.2 kg LPG cylinder, pressure regulator, suraksha LPG hose, DGCC booklet and installation cost for the distributor.
As per the Socio-Economic Caste census of 2011, altogether 2,43,939 beneficiaries are eligible for the scheme. The total Ujjwala KYC enrolled as on June 1, 2017 is 5,104.

Ujjwala domestic LPG connections are given to women from BPL families in their own names based on their Aadhar cards and bank accounts. The objective of the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana is to provide deposit free 5 crore cooking gas (LPG) connections to women from below-poverty-line (BPL) households over 3 years from 2016-17 to 2018-2019.- DIPR

Source: The Sangai Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here