Over fifteen thousand NPF Active Members reaffirming Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu’s Presidentship during its General Convention at Kohima


By Oken Jeet Sandham

Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu arriving for NPF General Convention at Kohima Local Ground on 22 November 2017

KOHIMA, Nov 22 (NEPS): Nearly twenty-two thousand Naga People’s Front (NPF) party men and women including over fifteen thousand active members attended the General Convention of NPF led by Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu held at Kohima Local Ground on Wednesday.

Mention may be made that in compliance with the Election Commission of India (ECI)’s Order dated October 17, 2017 directing the NPF to settle the dispute through a “General Convention” as contained in the party’s constitution (Article XV), a General Convention of the party was held today at Kohima Local Ground.

The 4-Point Resolution was also adopted at the General Convention. The Resolution Committee Members are Yitachu, Convener; Y Vikheho Swu, Member; Dr. Chotisuh Sazo, Member; T Torechu, Member; R Tohanba, Member; Achumbemo Kikon, Member and Sebastian Zumvu, Member.

Nearly twenty-two thousand NPF party men and women including over fifteen thousand Active Members attending NPF General Convention at Kohima Local Ground on 22 November 2017. (NEPS Photo)

It resolved their reiteration of supporting the decisions adopted at the General Conventions of the party held on 26 November 2014 and 30 April 2015 “recognizing the leadership of President Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu as the one and only President of the Naga People’s Front for the tenure 2015-2020.” And at the General Convention held today, over fifteen thousand active members present resolved to “stand firm behind him and work tirelessly for the greater glory of the party,” the resolution said.

It also said the party, being a founding member of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in 1977, “it shall be the endeavor of the NPF to contribute its mite to the overall benefit of the people of the region and the country.”

On the political front, it resolved to extend “unflinching support to the ongoing peace process between the Government of India and the NSCN (IM) and recently, with the Naga National Political Groups. It also expressed happiness at the “understanding arrived at and the progress made to resolve the Naga political issue.”

Reiterating their stand that they would pave way in the “event of the realization of a negotiated political settlement that is honorable and acceptable to the Naga people,” the resolution made it clear that this “commitment will be fulfilled on any day, be it one day, one week, one month, one year or anytime.”

On the economic front, the resolution said, “To supplement the Act East Policy of the Government of India and to let the people of the region actively participate and benefit from trade and commerce with the South East Asian nations, it shall be the endeavor of the NPF to pursue with the Government of India for construction of Trans-border National Highway along Indo-Myanmar borders covering the Northeastern States of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram.”

“The Northeastern region should not be a mere corridor for trade and commerce with the neighboring countries, but should be converted into a hub of business wherein our youths and entrepreneurs directly participate and benefit from the trades,” it further said.

It also resolved that “the NPF party shall continue to pursue for corruption-free governance and bring about social justice and equitable development.”

“Transparency and accountability shall be the mantra of the NPF party and its Government as exemplified during the brief tenure of Dr. Shurhozelie-led DAN Government earlier this year,” it said.

Earlier, Dr. Liezietsu delivered his Presidential Address. KG Kenye, Secretary General & MP (RS) gave Secretarial Report. W Morung Makunga, President of Manipur NPF, Haappa Taidong , President of Arunachal Pradesh NPF, CL John, MLA & Member CEC, Y Vikheho Swu, MLA & Member CEC and Kuzholuzo (Azo) Neinu, MLA, Leader of NPF Legislature Party & Member CEC also spoke on the occasion.

P Longon, MLA & Member CEC chaired the program.

This Press Release was sent by NEPS, who can be contacted at nepsonline(at)yahoo(dot)com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here