Home News Headlines

House unanimously resolves to demand contents of Framework Agreement

4 member drafting committee constituted

IMPHAL | Dec 21 : The ongoing winter session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly today unanimously adopted another resolution pertaining to the Framework Agreement signed between the Government of India and the NSCN-IM, this time to demand the content of the Framework Agreement from the Centre.

In this connection, the House also constituted a drafting committee comprising of four members which includes deputy chief minister, Y. Joykumar Singh, Bishnupur MLA Govindas Konthoujam, Morang MLA P. Sarat and former deputy chief minister, Gaikhangam. The drafting committee was appointed by the leader of the House, N, Biren Singh.

Today’s resolution was an addition to the existing one adopted during the last assembly session to protect the territorial integrity of Manipur.

Congress MLA Kh. Joykishan moved a motion calling the attention of the Chief Minister of Manipur also in-charge of Home on the concern of the people of Manipur due to the inability of the Government to spell out the details of the Framework Agreement between the GoI and the NSCN-IM.

However, the calling attention motion was later converted into a short duration discussion following the proposal 10 members of the opposition bench citing the sensitivity of the issue.

The motion was also supported by opposition leader Okram Ibobi and senior Congress MLA Gaikhangam.

The short duration discussion was also participated by members from the treasury bench.

Replying to the motion, chief minister N. Biren Singh, the present government is trying its best to live up to the expectation of the people.

“We have been trying our best to establish the contents of the Framework Agreement (FA) taking into consideration the apprehension of the people and will continue to do so”, said Biren.

The chief minister revealed that recently he along with his counterpart, chief minister of Arunachal and Assam, pressured the competent leader to disclose the contents of FA. But, the authority declined affirming that the agreement was signed between only two entity (GOI and NSCN-IM) and none of the three states were part of the talks.

Nevertheless, the Centre asked the three chief ministers to submit their stands on the FA agreement, he added.

“We have made our stand clear. From my side I have told the authority that there is no differences in opinion when it comes to the unity of Manipur. With the objective to somehow extract the information regarding the Framework Agreement the consultative committee was constituted. And, we are still doing trying”, said Biren.

In the meantime, the chief minister appealed to the member of the House to refrain from engaging in any provocative activities and remarks that could jeopardize the tranquility.

Following his suggestion today’s resolution was adopted and subsequent formation of drafting committee.

Interestingly NPF, Awangbou Newmai, participating in the discussion, drew the attention of the member of the House to refrain from creating unnecessary tension in the mind of people.

“I am very much sure that our Prime Minister is conscious about the rights of everybody in the country. So while trying to hammer out a permanent solution it is agreed also that a solution should be acceptable to all (all sections). Let us keep our faith on the Prime Minister”, held Awangbou.

Opposition leader of the House, Okram Ibobi, while participating in the discussion narrated on various proposals put forward as options to Naga solution during his tenure as the chief minister of Manipur, which were against the interest of Manipur.

He reiterated that the Congress party was not against any particular group, community or the initiative of the GOI in finding solution to Naga issue.

From the ruling bench the discussion was participated by CAF & PD minister Karam Shyam, MLAs L. Radhakishor, S. Rajen, Dr. S. Ranjan, Awangbou Newmai, P, Sharatchandra, S. Subhaschandra and from the opposition Gaikhangam, Govindas Konthoujam, Kh. Joykishan, K. Ranjit, K. Meghachandra, Md. Abdul Nasir, Th. Lokeshwor, Ak. Mirabai, Dr. Chaltolian Amo.

Source: Imphal Free Press



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version