Third session of 11th Assembly begins


IMPHAL | Dec 20 : The third session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly began today with the House giving obituary reference in connection with the death of veteran politician Rishang Keishing, former chief minister of Manipur, Khundongbam Jugeshwor Singh, former Lamsang MLA, former MLA Sagolband Salam Damudor Singh, and Th. Krishna Singh, former Minister from Thoubal Assembly Constituency.

The obituary reference was initiated by the leader of the house, chief minister N. Biren Singh, wherein he referred the demise of the veteran politician Rishang Keishing as a great lost for the State as a whole adding that the vacuum left by him could not be filled easily.

He pointed out that the deceased was elected as first Lok Sabha member from Outer Manipur Parliamentary during the year 1952-1957. He was a Member of the Manipur Territorial Council from 1957 to 1962 and 1967 to 1971. He was elected as 3rd Lok Sabha MP from 1962 to 1967. He was elected as first Manipur Legislative Assembly member from Phungyar Assembly Constituency in the year 1972.

During the period from 1974 to 1979 he was a minister and held a portfolio of Finance, Education, Tribal Affairs, Transport and Forest. He was Chief Minister for the first time in the year 1980. He was not only a politician but also contributes a lot for the welfare of the society.

He was a member of the 9th Finance Commission in the year 1989 and attended as an Indian delegates in the 35th General Assembly of United Nation. He was soft spoken, simple, polite and humble. Rishang worked for equal development for the people of both the valley and the hill and peaceful co-existence of the people of the State.

Khundongbam Jugeshwor Singh, born in Awang Potsangbam Khullen was elected as a member of the 2nd Manipur Legislative Assembly from 17-Lamsang Assembly Constituency from 1974 to 1979. Salam Damudor Singh was a member of the Manipur Bar Association from 1968 to 1970. Municipal Commissioner from 1978 to 1983. He was elected as Member of the 4th Manipur Legislative Assembly from 11-Sagolband Assembly Constituency in the year 1984.

Th. Krishna Singh, elected as Member of the 3rd Manipur Legislative Assembly from 31-Thoubal Assembly Constituency. He was Minister of State and held the portfolio of Agriculture, Minor Irrigation, Vety & AH, PWD, Revenue and Transport from 1982 to 1983. Again, in 1990 he was elected as member of the 5th Manipur Legislative Assembly from 31-Thoubal Assembly Constituency and served as a Forest minister.

Biren praying for the departed souls to rest in peace, shared his grief with the bereaved families.

Opposition leader, O. Ibobi Singh in his obituary remarks, recalled the achievements and legendary contributions made by the late leader Rishang Keishing for the State of Manipur.

Others, who gave obituary reference in today’s session were deputy chief minister Y. Joykumar, agriculture minister V. Hangkhanlian, forest minister Th. Shyamkumar, MLA Md Abdul Nasir, MLA T.N. Haokip, MLA S. Rajen, MLA P. Brojen and MLA K. Leishiyo.

The Speaker move resolution that the House express it deep and sorrows to the demise of the late leaders and observed a two-minute silence by standing as mark of respect to the departed soul.

Later, today’s session, secretary of the Manipur Legislative Assembly intimate Governor’s assent to Bills to the House.

The Bills which have been given assent by the Governor of Manipur are The Manipur Appropriation (No.3) Bill, 2017 assented on 24th July, 2017. The Manipur Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management (Amendment) Bill, 2017 assented on 14th August, 2017. The Manipur Appropriation (No.4) Bill, 2017 assented on 24th August, 2017. The Manipur Private School (Registration and Regulation) Bill, 2017 assented on 31st August, 2017. The Manipur Coaching Institute (Control and Regulation) Bill, 2017 assented on 31st August, 2017 and The Dhanamanjuri University Bill, 2017 assented on 25th October, 2017.

Chief Minister N. Biren Singh while presenting the Fourth Report of the Business Advisory Committee, 2017 also move that the House agrees with the allocation of time recommended by the Committee. In view of the ensuing Christmas festival the session which was supposed to conclude on December 23 will now conclude on December 22, 2017.

Minister, tribal affairs and hills N. Kayisii move for leave to introduce The Manipur (Hill Areas) District Councils (Fourth Amendment) Bill, 2017. As the Bill was referred to Hills Areas Committee (HAC), HAC will give it report to the House on December 22, 2017

Source: Imphal Free Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here