Gaikhangam officially declared re-elected president of MPCC


IMPHAL, Sept 14: The incumbent president of MPCC, Gaikhangam, chairman of Manipur Pollution Control Board, E. Dwijamani, and chairman of MANITRON, Kh. Ratankumar were officially declared as the newly elected president, vice-president and treasurer of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) respectively by the election observer of the All India Congress Committee (AICC), Sanjay Dadlika, today in a press conference held at the Congress Bhavan, BT Road, Imphal.

The declaration was made after the nomination papers of all the three consensus candidates for the post of president, vice-president and treasurer were scrutinized today.

The presidential candidate Gaikhangam was proposed by chief minister O. Ibobi and seconded by Th. Debendra and E. Dwijamani while the vice-president candidate E. Dwijamani was proposed by Gaikhangam and other senior Congress leaders.

As only one candidate filed the nomination paper for each of the post of president, vice-president and treasurer, Gaikhangam, Dwijamani and Ratankumar were elected to their respective posts as unopposed.

The election observer Sanjay Dadlika also handed over the winning certificates to all the three successful candidates and recommended the newly elected vice-president of MPCC, E. Dwijamani, for the post of working-president of MPCC in view of strengthening the functionaries of Congress Party in the state. However, the post of working-president of MPCC can only be conferred after getting the approval from the AICC.

Speaking to mediapersons at the press conference, Sanjay Dadlika stated that the consensus candidates for the posts of president, vice-president and treasurer of MPCC were set up as per the directives and supervision of the AICC. There were no differences among the Congress workers regarding the presidential election of MPCC. The months long PCC election has concluded successful with kind support from the workers and the people of Manipur, he stated.

Clarifying the misunderstandings occurred in the course of PCC election, chief minister O. Ibobi maintained that it is inevitable for a large family like that of the Congress Party to have some minor issues arising from the family members, but they ought to follow the instructions of the high command strictly as the Congress Party has been acclaimed as one of the oldest and most disciplined political party in the country.

Whatever issues were there within the party are now over with active involvement of the AICC in resolving the issues. The Congress Party would always work for the welfare and development of the state, he said.

Ibobi further stated that the Congress led SPF would work with more accountability and transparency and the issues of the state would also be resolved step by step.

MP of Rajya Sabha, Rishang Keishing stated that the hill and valley people should respect one another and the differences between them should be resolved in the greater interests of the nation.

The president of MPCC, Gaikhangam stated that the PCC election is unique and time consuming unlike any other elections in the country. The AICC observer and chief minister O Ibobi have indeed rendered valuable help in resolving the election process of MPCC successfully, he noted.

Gaikhangam also announced the new office-bearers of MPCC which included seven nominated vice-presidents, namely T Mangibabu, S. Achouba, Maniruddin Sheik, AK Mirabai, Dr. Kh Loken, Dr. Chalton Lien Amo and Ngamthang Haokip, 11 nominated general secretaries, namely Bidyapati Senjam, M Okendro, L Jayentakumar, Govindas Konthoujam, Victor Keishing, Manga Vaiphei, Francis Ngajokpa, DK Korungthang, K Meghachandra, E Suraj and L Tilotama, eight secretaries, executive members including chief minister O Ibobi, N Biren, K Ranjit, ex-officio members and AICC members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here