Ninan is new Editors’ Guild president


    NEW Delhi Dec 28: T N Ninan, Business Standard, was unanimously elected president of the Editors Guild of India at the Guild’s annual general body meeting on Friday. Coomi Kapoor of Indian Express was elected to continue as general secretary, while Suresh Bafna of Nai Duniya was elected treasurer.
    Speaking on behalf of the members’ present, senior journalist Kuldip Nayar thanked the outgoing team of Rajdeep Sardesai, Coomi Kapoor and Rohit Bansal.
    It was agreed at the general body that, as part of the Guild’s continuing campaign against paid news, the names of all Guild members who had signed affidavits to pledge that they would not take part in this pernicious practice would be posted on the Guild’s website from February 1, 2011. Members felt that before posting the names on the website, a month’s grace period should be given to ensure that all members had in fact received the Guild circular for signing the affidavit.
    The Guild’s general body also noted with concern the fact that some well-known editors had not followed the best traditions of journalism, as revealed in the Radia tapes. Members felt that this had affected the credibility of the media in general, and appealed to all editors to always act in a manner that placed the integrity of media operations above all other considerations.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here