A Mobi wins AMWJU elections


    IMPHAL May 2: The biannual election for electing office bearers for the next term of the All Manipur Working Journalist`™s Union for the 2011-2013 tenure was held yesterday.

    Ahongsangbam Mobi Singh, editor of the vernacular daily Sanaleipak won the presidential status by beating his only rival Bijoy Kakchingtabam, associate editor of Poknafam by a margin of 5 votes.

    Out of the 167 votes casted, A Mobi managed to get 86 votes while Bijoy got 81 votes.

    Out of the 10 candidates vying for the 7 seats of the standing committee, the contestants elected having the majority in sequence are W Dhamendro of daily eveninger Kangleipakki Meira, Ksh Meghajit of Naharolgi Thoudang, GA Naocha of News X, S Surjeshwar of Sangai Express, Kh Naoba of IS Tv, B Sanjoy of Eikhoigei Panthung and Y Nikesh of Ireibak.

    The new elected members will be handed over charge on July 1 as per norms of the scribe`™s body.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here