Kunjamohan recieves `Writer of the year award`


IMPHAL July 17: The Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti today handed over the writer of the year award 2011 to Nongthombam Kunjamohan Singh, writer/novelist during the observation of Writers Day at Manipur Dramatic Union Imphal.

The award was received by the writer’s wife on his behalf as he could not make it to the programme owing to ill health.

The 17th award is given to individuals each year in recognition of individual excellence in the field of writing and in gratitude for their contribution in the art of literature of the state. The award carries a citation and a shawl.

The Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti has been observing the Writers Day every year since the last 40 years on July 17, the day the Samiti was formed.

Prof. Polem Nabachandra and Kh. Prakash, president NSPS were on the dais as the president and chief guest of today’s function.

Kh. Prakash Singh, while giving his speech as chief guest opined that as compared to the number of books published and the number of writers, the state is lacking in readership which has resulted in the need to inculcate reading habits in our society.

He reasoned that the low readership percentage in the state is further aggravated by the introduction of cable television.

Later during the function selected emerging Manipuri writers Nabakumar Nongmeikapam, Nee Devi and Naorem Lokeshwor read their novel, Laon, Spray and Heeden Macha Macha respectively.

In another function held at Manipur Art gallery in Imphal today, a book by the name “Moreh, the eastern corridors of India” was released by E. Sonamani Singh, retd IAS, Sahitya Akedemi awardee. The book written in English is authored and published by Pangabam Bharat singh, retd IAS.

Rk. Jhaljit Singh, historian, Laisram Birendrakumar, Sangeet Natak Akademi awardee and K. Sorojini Devi, retd director Art and culture graced the book release function as chief guest and guests of honour respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here