I/W badminton championship


IMPHAL, July 30: The 5th Imphal West District Badminton Championship was inaugurated today at the Kwakeithel Thiyam leikai Youths`™ Organisation hall organized by the Imphal West District Badminton Association.

Altogether 133 shuttlers including five women are taking part in the championship.

In the first round of the sub-junior boys`™ U-13, M Rojit defeated RK Martin by 2-0 (21-8, 21-8); L james defeated RK Nicholson by 2-0 (21-7, 21-19); Ch Ritesh defeated Ph Kelvin by 2-1 (21-11, 18-21, 21-13), Dickson Kh defeated Ph Rahul Sharma (21-9, 21-12) and RK Gambhirchand defeated Purnatho H by 2-0 (21-4, 21-3).

The inaugural function was attended by Thoubal College, retd principal Dr Loitongbam Gourogopal Singh, MBA and MOA president Bijoy Koijam and MBA, secretary N Jatin Singh and Directorate of Education (U) retd Addl Director, Dr K Nabachandra Singh as chief guest, president and guests of honour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here