Shangpun Long submitted memorandum against the inclusion of 18 villages


Manipur,IMPHAL, August 23: The chairman of Shangpun Long, Hungyo Koko and the secretary of its association and ex-subedar, Thangboi Vaipei submitted a memorandum on August 21 to the minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Francis Ngajokpa regarding the inclusion of 18 villages in connection with the upcoming election to be held on September 13 of next month 2012.

It may be mentioned that the 18 villages had also participated in the Sadar Hills Autonomous Council election.

According to the statement of the chairman and the secretary of the association it said that the 18 villages which were included to participate in the election are covered under the Sadar Hills Autonomous District Council of Saikul sub-division of Senapati district. The villages are; Phowaibi, Phainom, B. Phainom, S. Kanan, Uchanpokpi/Haokhongching, Nongmaiching Tampak, Nongpok Centre, Nongpok Phayang, Irong Part-I, Irong Part-II, Somrei, Komlaching, Soraland, Phungton, Tangkhul Khullen, Heinganglok, Kharan and Lungthar etc.

Out of 18 villages, 15 villages are still in within the purview of Hill Areas of Manipur according to the Hill Area Committee Order 1972 and the remaining 3 villages are covered with the Manipur (Hills Areas) Autonomous District Council Act, 1971. It further mentioned the 3 villages were also included within the constituency of 24-Bongbal Khullen since the election which began in the year 1972.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here