Rifts in Left and Secular Alliance


Constituent parties differ on candidate choice

IMPHAL, March 23: In accordance to the two resolutions taken during the March 19 core committee meeting of the Left and Secular Alliance, seven of the nine constituent parties of the alliance will support Nationalist Congress Party candidate Chungkhokai Doungel for the Outer Constituency in the upcoming Lok Sabha election. As for the Inner Constituency, the seven will support Communist Party of India candidate Dr Moirangthem Nara Singh.

Convenor of the alliance, Kshetrimayum Shanta this afternoon made the announcement during a press conference held at the Irabot Bhavan.

He said that Peoples’ Democratic Alliance (PDA) another constituent of the alliance will support independent candidate Mani Charenamei in the Outer seat.

Meanwhile, no representative of the JD(U) were present during today’s conference and any attempt to contact the party president M Tombi remained futile. Such a development has created speculation about whether the party will field its own candidate or support CPI candidate Dr M Nara as has been decided by the other parties.

Addressing the media persons inside the Executive Committee Room of the CPI Manipur State Council, Shanta elaborated that the March 19 meeting was presided over by Janata Dal (Secular) working president Manihar Goshwami.

During the meeting, it was decided that during the 16th Lok Sabha Election, the alliance will approve the candidate fielded by Janata Dal (United), a partner of the alliance in the Outer constituency, he said.

It was also decided that the constituent parties will support candidates of their choice in both the Inner and Outer constituencies, Shanta continued.

He said that in accordance to the resolutions taken during the meeting, seven constituent parties have decided to support non-partner Nationalist Congress Party candidate for the Outer seat Chungkhokai Doungel and CPI candidate for the Inner seat Dr M Nara Singh.

Today’s press conference was also attended by leaders and representatives of the All India Forward Block (AIFB), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (CPI), CPM, JD(S), Shiv Sena and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP).

The decision to support the two candidates was arrived at after considering that both had already been active in the state politics as represented the people as MLA/minister and both have the calibre to perform and press on the issues confronting the state in the country’s Parliament, he asserted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here