59 MLAs take oath, floor test today


IMPHAL, Mar 19: Altogether 59 MLAs elected anew to the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly took oath of office and secrecy today even as the new Government led by BJP would undergo a floor test tomorrow.
Pro-tem Speaker V Hangakhalian administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 59 MLAs at the State Assembly, Chingmeirong.
The pro-tem Speaker first administered the oath of office and secrecy to 57 MLAs en masse at first.
Kshetrigao AC MLA Nahakpam Indrajit (BJP) and Thanga AC MLA Tongbram Robindro (AITC) who were left out were sworn in separately in the pro-tem Speaker’s room later.
Chief Minister N Biren, Council of Ministers and MLAs of BJP and their allies including Th Shyamkumar of Congress were seated on the ruling bench.
Ex-Chief Minister O Ibobi, ex-Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam, ex-Speaker Th Lokeshore and other Congress MLAs sat on the Opposition bench during the swearing in ceremony.
Ahead of the oath taking ceremony, V Hangakhalian was sworn in as pro-tem Speaker by Governor Dr Najma A Heptulla at the Durbar Hall of the Raj Bhavan were Chief Minister N Biren, Council of Ministers, BJP Manipur Pradesh president K Bhabananda and MPCC president TN Haokip were also present.
On the other hand, a new Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly would be elected tomorrow at 10 am.
While BJP has named Yumnam Khemchand (Sing-jamei AC) for the post of Speaker, Congress is likely to propose Govindas Konthoujam (Bishnupur AC) for the same post, informed a source.
After a new Speaker is elected, the new Government would undergo vote of confidence tomorrow.

Source: The Sangai Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here