State doctor to be conferred Padma Shri


NEW DELHI, January 25 (MIC): Dr Sarungbam Bimola Kumari Devi of Sega Road Thouda Babhok Leikai was among the 75 Padma Shri awardees,2015 announced today on the occasion of Republic Day. She was chosen for the award in recognition of her contribution to the society as a medical professional.

Dr S Bimola Kumari is currently serving the State Government as Chief Medical Officer of Imphal West.

She was the recipient of the Dr BR Ambedkar International Award,2014. Nepal Law and Order Minister Narhari Acharya handed over the award to Dr. Bimola Kumari at a function organised by Nepal-India Friendship Organisation, Babu Jagjivan Kala Sanskriti and Sahitya Academy at Kathmandu on May 24 last year.

Dr S Bimola Kumari joined the State Medical Service in October 1979 and served mostly in rural areas of Manipur with dedication towards a better healthy life of the society.

She was designated as Food Safety Officer during the two visits of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Manipur.

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz. – art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

`Padma Vibhushan`™ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; `Padma Bhushan`™ for distinguished service of high order and `Padma Shri`™ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year. This year the President of India has approved conferment of Padma Awards to 104 persons. The list comprises of 9 Padma Vibhushan, 20 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri Awardees. Seventeen of the awardees are women and the list also includes 17 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs and 4 posthumous awardees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here