One more Cong MLA defects to BJP


IMPHAL, Apr 17: Even as Congress party has been demanding disqualification of MLA Th Shyamkumar, another Congress MLA Ginsuanhau has defected to rival BJP.

Apart from MLA Ginsuanhau who was elected from Singngat AC, 14 Members of Chandel Autonomous District Council (ADC) including the Chairman have also joined BJP.
Notably, Th Shyamkumar too was elected on Congress ticket from Andro AC but he defected to BJP even before the newly elected MLAs of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly election were sworn in.

Meanwhile, a felicitation function was held at the Nityaipat Chuthek office of BJP Manipur Pradesh this evening where the Congress MLA and the ADC Members were accorded a warm reception.

Among others, Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren and BJP Manipur Pradesh president K Bhabananda were present at the felicitation programme.

Speaking at the gathering, Chief Minister N Biren remarked that it was BJP’s good fortune that MLA Ginsuanhau and 15 Chandel ADC Members including Chairman Lhukhosei Zou have reposed their faith in the BJP-led coalition Government which was formed with the people’s mandate to eradicate corruption and bring speedy development in the State.
It is a good fortune not only for BJP and its allies but also for the people of Manipur for there would be a stable Government.

Biren further exuded that many more politicians would join the BJP-led camp as the Government is committed to bring transparency and does not segregate between the hills and the valley or between different communities.

The reports about possible discord within the coalition Government with regard to one or two Minister(s) is a non-issue. It was a result of communication gap and it has been settled now, Biren claimed.

However, sources informed that NPP president Conrad Sangma arrived here today and held a closed door meeting. Notably, NPP is a key partner of the BJP-led coalition Government.

NPP MLA and Health & Family Welfare Minister L Jayantakumar tendered his resignation from Chief Minister N Biren’s Council of Ministers on Saturday citing undue interference in his duties and functions by the Chief Minister.

Ministers V Hangkhanlian, Nemcha Kipgen, MLAs Dr S Ranjan, H Dingo, K Robindro, L Rameshwor and Th Satyabrata were also present at the felicitation function.

The 13 ADC Members who have defected to BJP are Th Joy Lamkang, Kh Morung Maring, Ch Chanthoi Aimol, TS Kanlun, Tongsin Willingson, T Jangkhongam Baite, S Tongpao Mate, Khupkholen Haokip, M Morungson Maring, Ch Meshil Maring, Gotinlam Gangte, T Cecilia Haokip and M Alen Kom.

Source: The Sangai Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here